If Sin is Popular . . .

are we to believe it’s no longer sin? 

Okay, relax.  This isn’t going to be one of those “I am perfect, what’s wrong with the rest of you” posts.  I am not perfect.  Only Christ is perfect, but I’ve seen one too many news stories on TV, in magazines, and on the front page of newspapers promoting sin.  Oh, they don’t call it that.  In  fact they loudly speak of how “dreadful” what a certain famous person did is.  They claim to be shocked and dismayed that he (or sometimes she in other like stories) could ever do such a thing . . . yet, the same “sin” is repeatedly and in great detail spoken of on and in all these media and I’ve noticed the smiles on the faces and the gleam in the eyes of those reporting on television and also the earning potential that seems to be recognized by promoting sin and I’m thinking the heart warming stories of those who’ve gone the extra mile to follow the will of the Lord get a lot of people excited as well.  They don’t make the front page, they are said in the last 5 minutes or the last 60 seconds of the news broadcast, and so on.  The actions of folks we claim to be upset over, however, are on the top of every list of news to share, to discuss at length, and to repeat at every opportunity. 

We claim to want to change the world.  We claim life isn’t “what it used to be” and that some things are “just wrong.”  We are to blame for the mess we’re in.  We are the reason life is what it is, and we truly can change the world.  It begins with one step in the right direction, with one smile, one open heart, one resisting evil . . . who is the Lord of your life?  Is it Jesus?  Can people tell by your actions?  I do not know if I’m reflecting Him the way I should be in a way that “they’ll know” but I hope so and I pray that I do.

10 Responses to If Sin is Popular . . .

  1. Kim says:

    Hi Martha,

    Thank you for visiting my blog! I’m glad to have found yours.

    I do agree with everything you say. I spent six years of my career doing marketing and publicity within the entertainment industry, and I felt God call me away from this business a year ago to pursue Him. I don’t think it’s an inherently bad industry, but I do think it’s one the devil loves to infiltrate and use to spread greed, gossip, and other sins. These days I seek out heartwarming entertainment like you said. I want to fill myself up with good things.

    Thanks for sharing these thoughts!

    • You are welcome! Thanks for your comment and for reading this. Marketing isn’t all bad but the world is so full of the sort of thing this post speaks of and from all sides. I really believe if we took the high road more often we could change the world.

  2. I have also been alarmed at the attitude toward sinful behavior. The other day, I was watching the ABC Family Network. Two of the shows and the motto of the station greatly alarmed me. One show was called, The Secret Life of An American Teenager. I feel this promotes a gap between children and parents. The second show was called Pretty Little Liars. It was all about some caddy teenage girls. After showing clips from each of these shows, the announcer comes on and says, ABC Family, For A New Kind of Family. Yikes. If the new kind of family encourages this kind of programming, then I want no part of the new kind of family.

    • Thanks. I hesitated to post this topic on my blog for a few days and oh, boy, it you had seen the email I sent to my friend Alan. I worried folks would think I’m narrow minded. Not true at all, but I posted this (much lighter version than the email my friend got) because I came to realize that this feeling of “oh what will they think of me” is a lot of the reason why we’re in this mess. I am a sinner and anyone who claims not to be is a fool but that doesn’t mean sin is anything but what it is. “Reality” TV is not the kind of reality anyone I know lives, and our “big name” folks who livie in the headlines, while just the same as us and perhaps it’s unfair to expect more from them . . . do sometimes seem to exhibit a bit of “I can do anything” and when we say “Oh, what he did is dreadful” but keep smiling and watching . . . bad boy movie stars, foolish mixed up young ladies, polical figures “sexting” and the like . . . well, everyone isn’t doing these things and everybody isn’t okay with it. We do, however, unwittingly encourage them to keep doing it. Thanks for speaking out with me. Hate the sin but love the sinner . . . we’d all be in trouble if we didn’t have such a loving and forgiving God. It is time for a change in attitude, though, on our parts.

      • It’s very difficult to draw the line between justice and judgement, discernment and displacement. When do we no longer eat lunch with someone? Dear God, help us stand up for righteousness in humility..

      • Yes, thanks. So important to hate the sin but LOVE THE SINNER and while I know some who find certain things hard to get beyond, I think seeing Christ in folks (He’s there if we look for Him) makes this sometimes easier. An extreme example is a man I know who does a prison ministry to folks on death row. He truly cares about these folks and is with them regularly. I would be terrified. I have friends who have some parts of their lifestyle that is outside of my comfort zone, but we are still friends. True, there are some things we can’t share in together and I am unlikely to email a great Bible quote to one or two, but when I am with them or speaking to them I am still me. Quoting the Bible doesn’t make me a Christian. I hope people would know by my actions that I am. I’m sure that’s not always the case, but we have a forgiving God and that’s such a HUGE blessing. Great Comment!

  3. GOD ROCKS MY SOUL by Christopher James says:

    Yes, sin is so common that our society has become immune to it. it’s crazy what they do and say in movies, music and the media. I’m guilty of this too. It’s everywhere now that it seems crazy to go with Jesus we’re the rebels now. But, God says in Romans 12:2 do not be of this world and let God change the way you think and you’ll know what’s perfect:-) thanks for sharing!

    • Thanks for your comment. So true. I’m so often saying (to myself and others) that I’m in this world but not of this world. Christianity is not for wimps! Never thought I’d be a rebel, but you nailed it. That’s what we are. We are, as well, growing in number. TBTG!

  4. [...] Yes, sin is so common that our society has become immune to it. it’s crazy what they do and say in movies, music and the media. I’m guilty of this too. It’s everywhere now that it seems crazy to go with Jesus we’re the rebels now. But, God says in Romans 12:2 do not be of this world and let God change the way you think and you’ll know what’s perfect:-) thanks for sharing! are we to believe it's no longer sin?  Okay, relax.  This isn't going to be one of those "I am perfect, what's wrong with the rest of you" posts.  I am not perfect.  Only Christ is perfect, but I've seen one too many news stories on TV, in magazines, and on the front page of newspapers promoting sin.  Oh, they don't call it that.  In  fact they loudly speak of how "dreadful" what a certain famous person did is.  They claim to be shocked and disma … Read More [...]

    • I think sometimes we truly do oppose an act but are so certain that “everyone” will be against us if we admit this tht we put on a smile, a giggle, or something of the sort rather than daring to be truthful. Thanks.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,634 other followers

