What Is Easter REALLY About?

So often, when I’m working on something I love, there will be someone who asks “How can you do that?  How can you remember?”  When you love, you remember.  It is that simple.  When you love, you go deep.  That love is in your heart and your soul.  You can never be truly separated from what you love. 

I think of this as I think of last night at church where we had a special service . . . the Service of the Nails.  Powerful.  It was all about repenting, reading the Word, praying, listening . . . 

It is still with me today.  I can still hear the nails being pounded into the cross.  I still feel as though I’m there as they did this to a different cross . . . one on which my Jesus, my beloved, died.  I feel tears and my heartbeat changes as I type these words.

Why did Jesus have to go?  Why did He have to die?

We know it was about love.  We’ve heard the words, sung the songs, recited the prayers, but sometimes this comes from habit and not from deep within.  We get busy.  We don’t stop a moment.  We don’t stay with Him for an hour . . .

So, again, the question is why?????  Why did He have to die?

Jesus had to die.  He had to.  It was written . . . it had to be fulfilled.  He had to go . . . so that He could return to STAY.  It’s really that simple.  He died so that we could live eternally with Him.  He died so that He could return to each of us DEEP WITHIN OUR HEARTS AND SOULS. 

Jesus died so that He could return to us and this time

He came to stay

Have a blessed Easter.  May you let Him stay forever in you. 

 

 

9 Responses to What Is Easter REALLY About?

  1. Caddo Veil says:

    Oh Martha–this is so deeply moving, somber and beautiful, and I just want to hang onto those words, “so He could return to stay”. That is such a comfort. The Service of the Nails–although it is very meaningful, I’m not sure I could get through it, so I admire your courage. I’ve been thinking a lot about your previous post–the one about how people closest to Jesus were handling what He told them was to happen. I almost wrote you an email. Interesting that this year I’ve been taken deeper into some aspects of Easter week (last year it was all joy, as I’d received a miraculous deliverance). I spoke with my cousin, a very devout Catholic, yesterday–Good Friday–and was almost frightened by how personally in tune she was with the gravity of the hour. She was speaking as though Jesus was on the cross as we were speaking–almost the way you would describe a loved one being in a life or death surgery. It was quite eerie to me, and told me more about her than I’d previously known. I think I’m just very sensitive, and can get caught up in the magnitude of my unworthiness vs His great love and sacrifice–if I don’t guard my heart, the enemy could push me back into depression. But that’s not what Jesus wants–and He “returned to stay” so that I could live victorious over that. I am so filled with love for Him, and His love for me. God bless you, Sister~~love, sis Caddy

    • Oh, my beautiful sweet sister in Christ. Sometimes I just love Him so much I can only cry and somehow find my breath which in those moments is almost taken from me. Check your email for when I finish this, I will be sending you something . . . Love you, Martha

  2. I always feel your love for CHRIST in every post, Martha. Have a wonderful Resurrection Weekend :)

    ~Dulcinea

  3. Thanks for always visiting my site and reading my poems! We are part of the same quilt and wonderful things happen because of that. He uses us greatly to inspire others…always remember we are special in His eyes! Have a blessed weekend!

    • I love your poetry and as a poet myself and a quilter, we look at life through the same lens. Yes, we are special in HIs eyes. We are redeemed. We are loved. What a joy it is to serve Him by sharing this opportunity with others! We cannot earn His amazing love because without HIm we are nothing. But His love is so without measure and so freely given and in great abundance! A love we did not earn and which nobody can take away from us! Thanks Wendell!

  4. wdednh says:

    Reblogged this on YOU DECIDE and commented:
    You are not alone :D

  5. Martha, thanks for visiting and reading my poems! God Bless!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,877 other followers

