Enable Me – a four stanza Tanka poem

 

Enable Me!

 

I feel your embrace.

One second apart from you

chills me, heart and soul.

Yet, I do wander away

thinking I can handle things.

 

You know me better

than even I know myself

and so you stay close.

Mother, father, brother, friend . . .

you are all of these and more.

 

The instant I stop

and seek you, I find you there

and my fear is gone.

You take it away from me

and fill me with grace and love.

 

I do love you so.

Teach me to reflect your light.

Enable me to lead

your lost children home to you

forever singing your praise!

 

by Martha L Shaw – Copyright June 8 2012

8 Responses to Enable Me – a four stanza Tanka poem

  1. Debbie says:

    Oh Martha, you did such a good job with this! Thank you for sharing! God bless you!

  2. Caddo Veil says:

    Great job, Martha!

    • Thanks, Sis. The Lord is at work in me. Much of what He has led me to study, to write (on the blog and still in my notebook) seemed to be connected and at church today the same messages were preached on . . . sometimes in specific words just as I heard them in my heart in the last 48 hours. Prayer support welcome as the “storms” in life are mounting and wow do they try to knock us off track. Hugs, sis.

  3. [...] Enable Me – a four stanza Tanka poem (inlovewiththelord.wordpress.com) Share this:TwitterFacebookDiggEmailStumbleUponTumblrRedditPinterestLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. Tags: Haiga, Haiku, Haiku and Related Forms, Haiku Society of America, Intentions, Japanese poetry, photography, Poetry, Tanka, Writing [...]

  4. [...] Enable Me – a four stanza Tanka poem (inlovewiththelord.wordpress.com) [...]

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,795 other followers

