H-H-H-H-HELP!

Why is that word so hard to say?  We like to think there’s nothing, absolutely NOTHING we cannot handle and we deceive ourselves quite effectively in that inner claim until certain things happen in life which cannot be ignored.  What then?  I can only speak for myself. I tell myself:

  • It must be God’s will
  • I can live without . . .
  • The answer will come.
  • Oh, it’s not that big a deal.
  • I’m okay.  Really.
  • I can do this.
  • I’ll do it myself.
  • I’ll figure it out.
  • I’ll pray about it.

Those aren’t all completely wrong statements, but they truly don’t satisfactorily support never needing help from one another.  The one which leaps off the page for me is “I’ll pray about it.” I do pray.  You pray.  Prayer is amazing.  He answers our prayer.  He fixes things.  Sometimes the answer is to direct us to one another seeking support from the body of believers of which we are a part.  So, today I made a phone call for some advice.  I’ve needed to make the call for a while.  I got this very person’s name and phone number over a week ago.  I didn’t call until just now.  Why didn’t I call?  My reasons . . .

  • I was busy.
  • There were all these appointments . . .
  • The weather (???)
  • I had a lot on my mind.
  • I lost the phone number.

I could go on.  Truth?  Asking for help freaks me out.  I’m strong.  I’m smart.  I should succeed on my own.   Asking for help is so . . . so what?  I looked the word up in the dictionary.  The words weak and failure are not in the long list of definitions.  What was there?

  • give
  • provide
  • necessary
  • satisfy
  • succor
  • cooperate
  • strength
  • render
  • contribute
  • useful
  • profitable
  • cooperate
  • effective
  • fascilitate
  • advantage

There is not a single word in that list that’s frightening or remotely suggests help is a bad thing or a wrong choice.  We, most of us, freely offer and give help – often before being asked.  We don’t, I am sure, even give thought to looking down upon the one needing it.  Yet, if we are honest with ourselves, we inwardly tremble at the thought of seeking it.  Interesting, isn’t it? 

Know what?  The woman I was told to call is “out of the office at this time.”  So, I have to call back.  Okay, I’m actually giggling over that.  I finally got up the nerve and she’s not even there.  Making the call didn’t change me.  I might not even tremble quite as much when I try again.  We are the body of Christ.  We lift each other up.  That is the way we are called to live.  I can do this.  With His help, I can do anything He desires me to do, even ask for help.

4 Responses to H-H-H-H-HELP!

  1. Caddo Veil says:

    I’ll have to pray and meditate over this one, Martha. Gathering the courage to make the call–only to be told the person isn’t available–would typically send me right back to the list of reasons why I don’t call for help. Being “independent” has become a pride thing, I realize–however, the cement foundation is “Practicality and Reality”: there’s really no one for me to call. So praying, and “making do” are my accepted way of life. God bless you today–love, sis Caddy

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,876 other followers

