Church Supper Confession

My church family loves pot luck suppers.  We have them quite often, in fact  I just came home from one.  My Sunday mornings are long, although in my opinion not long enough since nothing gets my spirit soaring like hanging out with Jesus at His place, but having an early pot luck supper meant I barely had time to make my “dish to share” in time to head for church.   The supper wasn’t all about food either.  It was prayer, praise, singing, and sharing testimony . . . and eating.  I love having Sunday be as close to a “true” day of sabbath as I can make it. 

So, I had finished the midday meal and looked at my watch to find I had 2 hours to sit and read before making my casserole for the potluck.  Sounded perfect, so I curled up in a recliner with a book by Rita Bennett on prayer and . . . it had been busy but good weekend and does it surprise you that I fell asleep?  I woke up with not much time to fuss, and so I grabbed a new cookbook I’d just bought and recalled a recipe for a dish I’d never made.  I love cookbooks, but I never follow directions.  Well, as this was a casserole I hadn’t tried and was going to serve it to my church family untested . . . confession . . . yup, they were my recipe testers and yes I followed the actual directions.  Guess what?  They loved it!  It is a recipe which can easily be “played with” and I will have fun doing so next time I make it, but for now, I’ll share with you the written recipe.  I cannot identify the originator of the recipe as it was printed in one of those privately published “fund-raising” cookbooks.  I barely got it out of the oven in time to leave , so no picture . . . but they ate every bit of it and it was suggested I should make it again for next pot luck . . .

CORN CASSEROLE

1 can of corn nibblets

1 can of creamed corn

1 box Jiffy corn muffin mix

2 eggs

1/2 stick melted butter

1 cup sour cream.

 

Mix all but the sour cream until fully blended and include all the liquid in the corn nibblets.  Once this is fully blended, fold in the sour cream gently blending it completely.  Pour mixture into a casserole dish and cook for 1 hour in a 375 degree oven. It will be lightly browned on top and yummy. 

I’m telling you, it’s mindlessly simple and costs almost nothing to make and uses canned goods and it was a big hit!  I admit, I plan to play with it a bit . . . but in a couple of minutes literally after I stepped into my kitchen, I had it mixed and in the oven.  It doesn’t get any simpler than that.  As soon as I put it down and labeled it as “vegetarian” as we have members who don’t eat meat, someone spotted the dish and said “OH, I was hoping that’s what it was.  I love it!”   What a delightful greeting that was!  Thanks, Charlotte!

Try it at your next church supper and I promise I won’t tell anyone you used canned veggies! 

2 Responses to Church Supper Confession

  1. Freedomborn says:

    Thanks Martha sounds great, I will try it, I love corn and Ron likes it too.

    Christian Love from both of us – Anne

  2. It filled my biggest casserole dish and I brought it home empty! Kitchen smelled really good too! Thanks, Anne.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,797 other followers

