RIP Marie

A woman at church passed away in her sleep and while I hardly knew her and don’t even know her last name, her life touched mine.  I wrote this as a tribute to Marie and have asked my priests to share it with her family.  I wanted to share it with all of you as well.  Smile, my friends.  It changes hearts and lives in ways you’ll never know.

She Wore His Smile

For Marie

 

I didn’t know her well,

and yet she touched my heart

in a special way.

Each Sunday morning

as I gazed toward the altar

and saw the sunshine gleaming

through the stained glass window

high above my head,

I saw another ray of Son-shine

brightening the darkness

in the smile on her face

as she sang her heart out in choir.

Through that very heart of hers,

Jesus touched my own.

Each time our paths crossed

There was always that same smile . . .

a pat on the arm . . .

and the glow of her Lord

encouraging me,

blessing me,

lifting me up.

I cannot truly be sad

that she went to sleep

one last time

for I know that when she awakened

she was smiling at her Jesus

face to face.

              By Martha L Shaw

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,940 other followers

