Sing To Jesus – What The Children Taught Me!

Yesterday was a special Sunday for many reasons and it is likely that the blessings and grace which filled my heart and soul from that day will be mentioned many times . . . there were too many to count.  Just now I am here after spending some quiet time with Jesus.  The topic of discussion before I stopped to listen to Him was “but what if” and “Oh, but if I can’t” and of course “how will I manage if I can no longer” and the other famous “but what if I’m not good enough at” and in the quiet I expected an answer.  I was very quiet.  So was He.  Then something came to mind . . . it is my answer and it is a story of something which happened at church yesterday.

Our much-loved and totally Spirit filled bishop was at our church yesterday.  The brand new junior choir consisting of 6 tiny girls, some likely don’t know how to read yet, dressed up extra special and sang a song they’ve been working hard on for weeks.  As they stood there smiling and singing their hearts out for Jesus, they sounded like angels!  Clearly, not a thought popped into their heads that they might not be “good enough” or that they might get a note “wrong” or might need Miss Kim to prompt them with a forgotten word here and there . . . and any or all of these things may have taken place, but all I saw and heard was 6 little angels singing and reflecting their love for Jesus!  It brought tears to my eyes and as I looked down to find a tissue in my purse, I noticed Miss Kim’s little two-year old grandson sitting in a nearby church pew dancing and smiling for Jesus in time to the music.  Jesus doesn’t expect us to be perfect – only He is perfect.  He just wants our hearts!  The children knew that.  I’m learning it too!

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,941 other followers

