Why Cats Have 9 Lives

Or, why I plan to live more like a cat!

 

I was raised in an environment of “curiosity killed the cat.”  That being said, my personal philosophy has always leaned more toward the cat having nine lives.  “Research is formalized curiosity. It is poking and prying with a purpose.” — Zora Neale Hurston   That being said, based upon an assumption that “common practices in medical education may inadvertently suppress curiosity” a medical study was conducted on the subject of curiosity.  The authors, Lawrence Dycheand Ronald M Epstein,  conducted a theory-driven conceptual exploration and qualitative review, and found that curiosity is fundamental to understanding the patient and ultimately it can be said that curiosity can lead to curing illness.

That being said I was hungry for more on the topic, so a quick search engine inquiry using keywords “curiosity and art” exactly as I just typed here in this article brought me over 85 million hits.  The cat was onto something.  Not willing to stop there, I then typed a new keyword search “curiosity and spirituality” and up came near to 4 million hits!

In my own life, those whom I’ve known to be curious are certainly happier.  Case in point?  As I write this my elderly mother is disgusted that I’m “just writing” or as she often puts it “playing with that &**&^% computer again.”  She’d rather just go for ice cream.  (Okay, it’s not on her diet and we have a half-gallon of two flavors in the kitchen, so my curiosity isn’t really stopping her)  So, I ask you.  Does this make you curious?  What does curiosity do for us?

  • We learn more
  • We see the world differently
  • We find cures for illnesses
  • Our spiritual lives are enhanced
  • Our moods improve
  • We think better
  • Seeking leads to finding

It can clearly be said that those of us who are curious can get into trouble as the cliché warned us about the “curiosity killed the cat.”  However, look at the odds.  We were also told the cats have 9 lives.  I’m not a gambler but that tells me looking for more in life (aka being curious) and being unwilling to settle for the merely obvious whether in medicine, in art, in human relationship, and so much . . . is not “idle” at all.  It is vital!

Don’t settle for the way things are.

Don’t settle for “good enough.”

Don’t walk about with blinders on.

Don’t simply get used to “it.”

Open your eyes and give glory to God for all that He has given us!  We were created for more than we settle for!  Get out there and look for it and share it with the world!  Curiosity:  an eager desire to know.  Aren’t you curious about . . . . ???

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,629 other followers

