Prayer Without Ceasing? Listen To This!

We have all read and heard the scriptural teaching us to pray without ceasing.  Can this be done?  How to interpret these words has been discussed and will continue to be.

I believe, and continue to learn this, that if I do every large and small thing to the Glory of God then I am praying without ceasing.  The task so dreaded or the challenge I cannot imagine nailing well . . . the dirty job I wish was for another and not me . . . surely if Jesus was standing there with me and asked “Do you love me?  Clean my toilet” would I not do so?

Yesterday, this came to me over my lunch break at my new part-time job.  The job has been frustrating and disappointing.  Things have not gone as “they” promised.  The reasons, even if I was sure what they are, don’t really matter.  But I felt a nudge and recalled a story a Christian friend spoke of in a testimony at a meeting some time back. He is a teacher and goes to class early and takes this time to pray at each empty desk in his classroom.  Wow!  His relating this humbled me and brought tears to my eyes.

That was some time ago and I’d forgotten it in the highs and lows of my own struggle.  So, yesterday as I faced a combination of “ho-hum” and “Lord, HELP!!!!” He reminded me of my friend’s prayers and I knew He wanted me to do likewise.  As I prepared a drink for another, He wanted me to pray for this unidentified son or daughter of His.  As I mopped the floor, cleared up one mess or another, He wanted me to pray for those who’d find rest in this booth, who’d come for food . . . that they’d find rest in Him, meet Him, be fed by Him . . .

This blew me away!  I wondered how many times He had tried to tell me these things as I shook with fear over my own crisis . . . even while He has a solution in hand and has people praying with love for me.  This time, I finally heard Him and I’m reminded of the following:

1 Samuel 3:8-10

The Lord called Samuel a third time, and Samuel got up and went to Eli and said, “Here I am; you called me.”

Then Eli realized that the Lord was calling the boy. So Eli told Samuel, “Go and lie down, and if he calls you, say, ‘Speak, Lord,for your servant is listening.’” So Samuel went and lay down in his place.

10 The Lord came and stood there, calling as at the other times, “Samuel! Samuel!”

Then Samuel said, “Speak, for your servant is listening.”

10 Responses to Prayer Without Ceasing? Listen To This!

  1. Beautiful post Sis…very moving! God bless!

  2. robind333 says:

    Wonderful post! Really enjoyed how you interpreted this scripture and are living it…Great teaching and many, many blessings to you…Robin

  3. Michael Snow says:

    You remind me of that classic by Brother Andrew, “Practicing the Presence of God.”

    • I recall when someone gave me that book thinking “he must be crazy” but bringing the Lord into my unpleasant tasks and my displeasing job changes my response to the tasks and wow, what a difference overall it makes. My spirits are lifted so high when I “do it” for Him out of my love for Him. Thanks for reading my blog! Have a great day!

  4. Deborah says:

    I, too, know this to be true and your testimony has strengthened mine Martha~ thank you ~ Sincerely

  5. Caddo Veil says:

    Sorry to hear the job has not been all we’d hoped and prayed for–but I’m still believing for the Best that is YET to BE.

    • Thanks. I am CERTAIN of His promise! I also feel really strongly that this job is somehow serving a purpose. I am not sure I will know what that purpose is, but He knows. Thanks, Sis. Your prayers and those of the many who are praying lift me up and that means a lot. Blessings!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,889 other followers

