Bread Dough Pretzel Sticks Recipe

Digital Camera

Bread Dough Pretzels

Note:  I began the process with my bread machine and recommend adding ingredients in the order your machine suggests.

Ingredients:

6-7 ounces of water

¼ teaspoon salt

2 cups bread flour

½ teaspoon sugar

1 ½ teaspoons yeast

1 egg, beaten

Coarse salt

Mixing/Rising: 

I placed all ingredients EXCEPT the beaten egg and coarse salt into my bread machine on the dough setting and did so in the order my machine instructs.  (The order written here)

When the dough setting was complete, I removed the dough onto the counter (piece of parchment paper) and divided it into 12 equal pieces, then shaped it into the desired “pretzel” shape i.e. twists or sticks.         

Baking:

Preheat oven to 450 and place pretzels onto a greased baking sheet.  Brush each with beaten egg, and then sprinkle with coarse salt as desired – I prefer light on the salt. Bake for 12-15 minutes.

Can be frozen.  Thaw in oven in about 5 minutes.

EXPLANATION OF DOUGH SETTING:

Knead for 7 minutes

Rise for 5 minutes

Knead for 18 minutes

Rise for 50 minutes

ADDITIONAL NOTES:

I used parchment paper on my counter (waxed paper would be fine) and put flour on it before dividing dough.  I also floured my hands before handling the dough.  It made life pleasant.  I chose to make pretzel sticks – 12 of them, rather than twisting it.

I used cooking spray to grease the baking sheet.

If using more than one baking sheet be certain to rotate them.  Place the second oven rack close to the first.

I ate one fresh from the oven without brushing melted butter on it, simply my preference.  At the mall places I have often found them too greasy and wiped them off a bit with a napkin to remove excess butter and salt.  They come out of the oven lightly browned, though that doesn’t show well in this photograph.

3 Responses to Bread Dough Pretzel Sticks Recipe

  1. I love these dipped in melted cheese or salsa . . . okay, or both. lol

  2. Debbie says:

    Thank you, Martha . ..you always share something good with us! God bless you!

    • Oh, thank you! This post is taking the concept of breaking bread together into a different direction perhaps. lol Gotta say, they are good, if you like the “bread dough” sort of pretzels and you can still melt butter and brush it on them if you want them that way. Enjoy!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,751 other followers

