Good Morning, Lord!

 sunrise-md

I awakened early,

Snuggled deep into my soft pillow

And wrapped warmly in my quilt

I pretended it was still time for sleep.

As I lay cozy in my bed

You whispered lovingly to me

And I sighed, smiled, and whispered back.

Gazing lovingly,

I felt your arms holding me close

As you filled my heart with you

And I realized it was there

That I would forever stay,

Waking, sleeping,

It matters not

As long as you’re with me.

Suddenly,

The wake-up melody sounded

High in the sky

On distant branches of the tall tree

Outside my window

And I realize the sun was opening

Its sleepy eyes,

And so did I.

Listening to the sweet songbirds

I added my praise to theirs

As together we faced the day.

By Martha L Shaw – © 2-15-2013

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,931 other followers

