Bread of Life

Did you know that in the Bible (NIV) the word bread appears over 250 times?  Pretty important stuff.  I have NOT had AT ALL the kind of day I counted on.  I did NOT get to do the things I wanted or needed to do.  The battle has not been pretty.  I gave up.  I got out flour and sugar and the like.  I tried a new bread recipe.  It’s still cooling in the pan.  My whole house smells AMAZING. Being a new recipe, I don’t yet know if taste and texture will be equal to aroma, but I did enjoy beating up the dough and the aroma is AMAZING and it was a simple loaf made with things I always have on hand such as flour, sugar, baking soda, lemon, milk, an egg, cinnamon . . . that’s about.  If what comes out of the pan is imperfect, well so are the hands that made it, but the work was good anyway as is the scent which spread throughout my home.  As I see it, I win regardless!

cinnamon bread

So Abraham hurried into the tent to Sarah. “Quick,” he said, “get three seahs of the finest flour and knead it and bake some bread.”

Genesis 18:5-7

That same night they are to eat the meat roasted over the fire, along with bitter herbs, and bread made without yeast.

Exodus 12:7-9

Jesus answered, “It is written: ‘Man shall not live onbread alone.’”

Luke 4:3-5

Give us each day our daily bread.

Luke 11:2-4

And he took bread, gave thanks and broke it, and gave it to them, saying, “This is my body given for you; do this in remembrance of me.”

Luke 22:18-20

One Response to Bread of Life

  1. […] is the recipe for the cinnamon bread pictured in my Bread of Life post.  I just ate two slices with butter for my supper. […]

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,871 other followers

