Quick White Bread – No Yeast

This is Irish Soda (white) Bread.

irish soda white bread

It is not the dark and raisin filled bread I recall from childhood. It is a basic white bread with baking soda as leavening rather than yeast. It calls for butter milk instead of white milk as the magic with the leavening is enhanced. I used a butter milk alternative this time for the first time in this recipe with good results.

This loaf can be made on a lightly greased baking sheet as a round “artisan” type loaf and cuts can be made (cross) if desired. The ingredients are few and likely things you have:

2 cups of flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup milk with 1 tbsp lemon juice added in lieu of buttermilk

sift tog first 3 ingredients, add milk and mix to form a soft dough. Pour into lightly greased loaf pan or form shape desired on baking sheet.

Bake at 375 for approx 35 minutes or until nicely browned on top.

I have read differing opinions on switching whole wheat flour for all-purpose flour. I have not tried it but would recommend using a bit less flour and depending on how the dough feels (whole wheat will be more dense as a rule) add a bit more if needed. I have seen comments on bread making which suggest splitting the flour to half all-purpose and half whole wheat, while others go with entirely whole wheat. When I have some whole wheat on hand, I’ll try it.

irish soda white bread sliced

4 Responses to Quick White Bread – No Yeast

  1. Reblogged this on The Christian Gazette and commented:
    I love making special things for my family and friends and cooking and baking are two ways I enjoy . . . though there are many. This simple bread takes little effort, uses things you likely have on hand, is quick to make, and you can go from inspiration to serving it up in about an hour! Not only that, you’ll know EXACTLY what’s in it because you made it yourself!

  2. Sherry says:

    I’m praying for rain so I will have a reason to be in the house to make this! Thanks for sharing this recipe. I also love those Nutella cookies!

    God bless you!~

  3. […] Quick White Bread – No Yeast (inlovewiththelord.wordpress.com) […]

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,763 other followers

