What Nana Knew

me 4 generations

My Nana, Mom’s mom, was a shut-in for the last 20 years of her life due to poor health. She lived in a one-room apartment. She was up early every morning, put on a dress, hose, heels, jewelry, makeup, fussed with her hair. She read the paper, chatted on the phone some, did needle-work which she donated to church she could not attend, and wrote letters to friends and family far and near. Thinking back, I realize she never had much, but I visited her all the time and adored her. No, she had very little but I always thought she had everything. I still do.

2 Responses to What Nana Knew

  1. r2a2r2j2 says:

    And every day is what we make it. When we make it about other than ourselves the days go by so quickly. Here in Maine, on April 9, it is STILL snowing. What a disappointment this morning when I opened the curtains to see “unexpected and “unpredicted” snow. This could be an extension of “cabin fever” or I could change my mind. I can’t imagine what it must be like to be completely housebound for life! Your wordpress blog came just in time! I remember my Nana’s laugh, and interestingly enough, she strongly resembles your Nana. I shall change my mind today, there are certainly enough people in my life on which to focus who need uplifting. Thank you.

    Like

