LOOK, LISTEN, LOVE

 

commune with nature framed

Maybe

I made mistakes.

As I stand here looking back,

I see many rough spots on the road

I’ve traveled long.

I ponder going back,

But a still small voice says

“Carry on!”

I suddenly realize,

To return I would stumble twice,

And accomplish nothing.

The road ahead is new.

It is not smooth,

But I have learned much!

There is a hand reaching out,

And a smile warms me from within . . .

Soul to soul!

Suddenly,

I realize the clouds of night have parted

And the Sun has risen!

My head and heart are lifted

As I travel on.

By Martha L Shaw ©2016

15 Responses to LOOK, LISTEN, LOVE

  1. You told my story, thank you. It’s a choice when you get to that point. But I learned in acrylic painting that you don’t make mistake, you take that spot and make it beautiful. Thank you again for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Urvashi's thoughts says:

    Beautiful ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Bernadette says:

    A very inspiring poem. Perhaps you should share it at the Senior Salon today.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Truly touched my heart today, Martha. There is no going back, is there? God calls us to learn from the past, but to keep moving down the path He has prepared for us.
    Blessings!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Bernadette says:

    I am so happy that you joined us. You are a real asset.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Dreamvoyager says:

    Loved your poem! Thank you for sharing! 🙂

    Like

  7. This is a beautiful poem Martha, and so true. We can’t go back, but we can definitely learn from what we’ve left behind as we move forward!

    Liked by 1 person

