Watch Where You’re Going!

NEW IN TOWN

Blessed

I heard about you and became curious.

You sounded unlike any other.

I heard rumor of invitations

“get to know you”

And watched the mailbox closely,

Never noticing you stood nearby gazing at me,

but no mail came.

On my morning stroll I saw

The letter carrier pass the park bench.

“Did my invitation come today?”

I wondered?

No, only more worries.

I returned home,

Never seeing your gaze into my eyes

As you tapped the park bench.

What’s wrong with me?

My soul cried out,

As I stood pulling weeds in my front yard.

You called “Martha!”

But I worked on.

I swept the debris by my door

As you called out again,

Louder,

But I swept and wept

And felt left out.

Suddenly,

A hand grabbed my wrist,

And with a start

I tugged it back and looked up.

“Martha!  Why do you weep?”

“ . . . but you never wanted me.”

“I’ve kept near you all these days”

You assured me,

“but you never met my eyes.”

This time I did.

I saw such love there.

You spoke again saying

“Come and follow me!”

I dropped my rake and followed you home.

By Martha L Shaw – © 2017

2 Responses to Watch Where You’re Going!

  1. nice…though bit ghostly…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Absolutely inspired, Martha! Thank you for this blessing today.

    Liked by 1 person

