DADDY’S LOVE – ABBA’S SERVANT

 

Tapers on the sofa table

Gently lit the room

For it was night.

 

While mother slept,

Father and I enjoyed the gentle candle light

And stories from another time and place.

 

We needed no warmth

From those candles, though.

That came from father’s heart.

 

He knew I’d be waiing.

I knew he’d come.

Sleep didn’t come easily to him.

 

We spent hours together

He shared so many stories

Oa life as a boy,family,the farm…

 

Tales of many generations

Retold in the gently lit room

Well into the night.

 

Tears come as I share this

But not of sadness,

All of joy!

 

As we retired for the night,

I waited for his sounds of sleep

Before taking to my bed.

 

He is gone now,

But my memories still bring

Love, peace, and rest!

 

By Martha L Shaw – © 2017

 

Image may contain: 1 person

 

 

 

Share Your Thoughts!

